Standing Up For Your Health

So apparently every time we sit down for a prolonged period of time, we are shaving off days of our lives. We already know the long list of negative effects associated with leading a sedentary lifestyle, but it also affects our joints! We sit so much, and for so long, that we begin to lock our hips and become virtually physically unable to fully extend our hips. Not only does this eventually lead to hip disease and back problems, but these problems stem from one another to create this vast web of biomechanically unsound movements. Your tight hamstrings lead to the inability to extend your hips, which could lead to pelvic tilt, which under the right circumstances could lead to back problems, neck problems, shoulder problems – The list goes on. Inevitably this shortens your lifespan in a number of various ways. We’re talking years.

Well, you know me. I’m going to take a stand, literally, and aim to sit as little as I possibly can. The first, and probably the only step I’ll take is to eliminate my computer chair. I have moved my computer to a standing desk (Made from my dresser chest if you must know) in hopes of pretty much eliminating the many hours a day I spend sitting. Completing assignments, browsing the web, gaming, typing this blog – Pretty much EVERYTHING.

Apparently, hip disease in countries that still use the bathroom on the ground and sit on the ground is virtually non-existent. See the Asian Squat if you’re interested.

Check out the FIRST episode of Dr. Kelly Starrett’s Mobility Workout of the Day – Emphasis on first because he obviously finds it very important. Try the Squat Test and see how your flexibility stacks up!

With all that being said, there have been some people against the idea of standing up all day long. I can completely understand this, as after awhile you become tired of standing much faster than sitting. I’ve previously worked as a server, working up to 12 hours some days on my feet, and I can say that it isn’t exactly pleasant; However, it also didn’t appear to be harmful so I’m still willing to give this a try.

I’ll keep you posted!

Agree, disagree, or have something to add? Please comment below! I'd love to hear your response.

