College: What’s it really  about?

Ah, college.

Growing up I always knew I would attend, but I just wasn’t entirely sure where.

I certainly didn’t know what I would study. I finally decided on a Bachelor of Business in Administration, but only because you really can’t go wrong with one. I’ve always had more of a business mind and an interest in it, but mainly I chose it because it’s safe at the very least. Upon completion of that, I then developed interest in a Doctor of Physical Therapy, which eventually turned into a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. I’m currently working on that one at Baylor University and expect to graduate in May of 2015. Honestly, it doesn’t even stop there. Once I get my BSN, I have plans to pursue higher education in nursing… I think.

Moral of the story – Don’t expect to know exactly what you’ll be studying in college. It seems ridiculous to me that society expects us to know at such a young age. Instead, I like to think of it as a stepping stone to finding our true passion in life.

What’s it Really About?

In my opinion, college is about getting away from home, the sphere of influence you’ve had since birth, and experiencing life your way. The single most important thing about college isn’t getting your degree, although you should probably pick that up that along the way, but about getting to know yourself and others, fine-tuning your values, and using that information to form a greater understanding of your surroundings. It’s about making mistakes, but more importantly it’s about learning from them in a safe environment that fosters just that – Learning. College is a crucible: A melting pot of all the possibilities within you, mixed with all the experiences you create while you’re there.

Other than that, it’s a really expensive piece of paper that anyone can get if they give it their all. There was a time when few people had college degrees, but now virtually everyone receives one. In most cases, you’re not going to get a job anymore based solely on the fact you have a degree. Sorry.

The Rise of Online Degrees

Many universities are not only beginning to have online classes, but entire degree programs exclusively over the web. We’re talking major, prestigious universities, and even Ivy League schools! If I wanted to, I could probably earn just about any degree I wanted by cheating my way through it. Although I certainly wouldn’t advise it, as you would only be cheating yourself, I bet it could be done. What’s more is that there have been many very successful people in the world, including the former CEO of Yahoo!, who actually forged their degrees. In fact, the amount of cases where people have managed to lie their way to top level corporate positions is staggering! Surely if they didn’t have a degree you would notice it rather quickly, right? Obviously not.

The Bottom Line

With one bachelor completed and another on the way, I’m in over my head in college debt. Were they worth it? I sure hope so. Would I trade my six-figure college debt to take it all back? No way! Not a chance.

After it’s all said and done, I wouldn’t trade my memories, experiences, education, and all the incredible people I’ve met along the way for anything. Both the price and value of a college degree may be inflated beyond belief, but the experience itself has no price tag.

Agree, disagree, or have something to add? Please comment below! I'd love to hear your response.

