Why Nursing?

I was recently accepted into Baylor University’s accelerated second degree BSN program. It starts in May 2014 and I’m excited to say the least! I graduated from Texas Tech University in August of 2013 with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Management, but I never saw myself working in the ‘standard’ business setting. Although I certainly have no problem with authority, a desk job working under my ‘superiors’ certainly doesn’t strike me as something I would enjoy – Working my way up based on merit alone would be great; however, it seems more often than not you’re stuck in limbo complements of corporate bureaucracy. That just wasn’t for me.

I had my sights set on becoming a physical therapist. I figured I would get my BBA, spend 3 years getting my Doctor of Physical Therapy, and then eventually open up my own practice. I love health and fitness, so physical therapy seemed like the perfect match for me. I volunteered for experience and eventually got a job as a rehabilitation aide at an LTAC/ICU specialty hospital. The experience was truly incredible, and I learned much more than I thought I would about both nursing and physical therapy. In the end, I began to realize how similar nursing and physical therapy were at the most basic level. Simply put, one nurses the patient as a whole, whereas the other nurses specific areas of the body to restore function for everyday activities, and both receive an immense amount of satisfaction in their jobs knowing they made a difference in the life of another. Naturally, I then looked at the average salary. I was surprised to find that on average, nurses made only 13k less than physical therapists. Considering I could get my BSN in one year, and a DPT in three, it seemed like a no-brainer. Not to mention that most physical therapy schools are much more competitive than nursing schools, and frankly I really wanted to get going with my life!

OK, so enough background. Why nursing?

Job Security and Career Options

Job security was a big deal for me. Knowing that I could get my BSN, and get a job rather quickly after graduation was huge. I could taste it! All the different career paths I could go with nursing, especially with a BBA in management, really intrigued me. It seemed the more I looked, the more ideas I got. With all those options, it wasn’t even out of the question for me to go back to school for my MSN and specialize in something else. An executive position, research job, or even anesthesia caught my eye more than a couple of times. This would yield greater responsibility, pay and certainly revitalize my career if I ever got bored. There aren’t many career fields out there that offer so many choices – The possibilities are truly endless.

Travel

Over the years, I’ve become more and more interested in seeing the world. The Pale Blue Dot, if you will. I’m not that interested in man-made monuments, sightseeing, or exotic vacation destinations. I’m interested in learning about others – Their stories, way of life, and everything that goes along with it. I crave new experiences that will change the way I see the world and life in general. The world needs nurses. No matter where you go, there will be a place for you to help others. Humanitarian aid trips, volunteer work, and mission trips, both foreign and domestic are always available to you. I’ve been told by many nurses that it’s the experience of a lifetime. I’ll take two, please!

 

Rewarding

Whenever someone asks me why I want to become a nurse, the most common, cliché, and simple answer comes to mind first – To help others. *Shudders* I’m sure that’s the first thing that comes to mind for most people, but why do I absolutely hate saying it? Do you? It sickens me that I feel it so necessary to say, when this is one of the very things that make us human. In fact, various scientific studies have recently led researchers to believe that it’s a biological trait of human beings. Empathy breeds sympathy, sympathy breeds compassion, and together cooperation is born. In today’s society, after all our advancements, we still feel the need to say the most basic of human characteristics? That says a lot. I’ll save that for a later post. Anyway, helping someone just feels good! The impact you can make on someone when they are most vulnerable shouldn’t be overlooked, and the impact they can make on you is just as important. Several years ago, my ex-girlfriend was in a fairly bad car accident that landed her in the ER. Thankfully, everything turned out to be OK, but the experience itself changed my life forever. Our nurse was a man from Ireland. His thick accent and jolly personality was certainly worth remembering, but what I’ll remember most is how genuinely compassionate he was. Something so simple, so effortless, and so natural had such a profound effect on me – I’ll remember him forever. As a nurse, you have the opportunity to positively impact someone’s life each and every day. That’s a powerful thing! Better yet, you’d be surprised just how much they’ll impact your life!

Flexible Schedule

Many nurses I’ve talked to work what seems to be a pretty nice schedule. Typically, I hear they’ll work three days on, four days off, and vice versa. For me, this is perfect. Not only will I have time to travel around when I have a string of days off, but I can put my business background to work. I didn’t get my BBA for nothing! I consider myself a social entrepreneur, and with those days off I can develop my business ideas and eventually get them started up. What could you do with your extra days off each week?

Health and Fitness

I’ve always been genuinely interested in health and fitness. I’m fascinated by the inner workings of the human body, and constantly looking to learn more.  I’ve always believed health is the most important thing in life. Without our health, it becomes increasingly difficult to live a more fulfilling life. Some people acquire diseases they have seemingly no control over, and it’s very sad to see. If you are healthy you should do everything in your power to stay that way – It’s all you’ve got! Since health is a passion of mine, I love to know I can make a difference in the health of someone else. Nursing them back to health so they may continue their wonderful lives is very rewarding.

This is why I’m becoming a nurse. I plan on keeping this blog going indefinitely – Nursing school and beyond!

Thoughts, comments, questions, or stories you want to share? I’d love to hear them!

Thanks for reading.

Agree, disagree, or have something to add? Please comment below! I'd love to hear your response.

