‘No Poo’

That’s right. In this trial, I’ll do my best to refrain from defecation… Just kidding. ‘No Poo’ otherwise known as ‘no shampoo’ is simply just that – not using shampoo. At first, it sounds pretty unsanitary. Your hair gets pretty dirty, right? Well, apparently it’s not as bad as it sounds.

I’ve had some pretty bad bouts of dandruff and a very itchy scalp all my life – Dry, itchy skin in general, really. I also have very oily skin. This never really made much sense to me. My skin is very oily, so it’s prone to acne and breakouts, yet my skin is also very dry, causing me to itch constantly and have to buy products to fend off dandruff and dry skin. It’s always been my understanding that the oil on your skin helps to lock in moisture and hydrate your skin, but you’re telling me that I have too much oil even though my skin is still flaky and dry? Wait, what?

So I guess that’s it – I accept my fate.

…Not so fast!

Doing some minor research I found something that’s a bit misleading. We’re told that sebum is the problem, so we’ve bought products that dry out our skin in hopes to get rid of it. These products could be everything from harsh detergent body wash to shampoo. Thus the vicious cycle begins! We dry out our skin, so our body in turn begins to produce even more sebum to make up for it, leading to a worsened skin condition. What’s worse, is that the dry skin, the real problem, still remains!

Long story short – I’ll be going without shampoo indefinitely in hopes of a healthier scalp free of dandruff and itching. I’ll update this as I see fit. Hopefully by the end of this trial I’ll know what works for me, and maybe it could benefit you as well!

 

 

UPDATE – 1 WEEK

3 thoughts on “‘No Poo’

  1. Pingback: Your Health is your responsibility! | The Life of Doowta

Agree, disagree, or have something to add? Please comment below! I'd love to hear your response.

